Author Interview: Amy Reece

I am starting a new series of author interviews on this blog, and am so excited to be featuring Amy Reece, author of the Seeker Series, as my first victim…I mean interviewee. Read on and learn more about this amazing author!

dreamerbanner

1) Tell us a little about your book.
a. Seeker is the first in a 4-book series about a girl named Ally who discovers she is psychic. The story opens as she has her first-ever psychic vision in the middle of her English class and she nearly passes out. Thank goodness the gorgeous guy who sits behind her helps her out. Thus begins a friendship and possibly a romance. Ally’s visions start her down a path she’s really not ready for, but has to follow.
2) What is your favorite part about writing? Least favorite?
a. My favorite part is creating the characters. I get to create, from scratch, these amazing people who become real to me. My least favorite part is anything having to do with formatting. Yuck! I’m so bad at it! I don’t mind editing—it’s a chance to make my story stronger and I get a kind of sick thrill out of it.
3) A director tells you that you have complete control over casting the movie version of your book. Who plays who?
a. Well, they’ll be too old by the time anyone has the good sense to make The Seeker Series into a movie (actually they’re probably too old now). But I would have Bella Thorne play Ally, Diego Bonita would play Jack, and Gaspard Ulliel would play Rémy. Yeah, they’re all too old, but I would cast their younger selves. I can do that, can’t I? Actually, if I ever had any say in the casting decisions, I would want Ally to be a real redhead, Jack would have to be truly Hispanic, and Rémy needs to be really French. No fake accents in my movie!!! Oh, and all the Irish characters would need to be authentic Irish. So, we’re gonna need a pretty big budget to get all these international actors.
4) If your house was burning down and you could save one thing, what would it be (don’t say photo albums, everyone says photo albums)?
a. I would save my dogs! I don’t know how I would carry them all out, but they’re going with me! If dogs don’t count, I would save my flute. I have a really nice one and I’d hate to try to replace it. There’s a little bit of author trivia for you: I play the flute. Pretty well, too. Not symphony quality, mind you, but I’m not bad.
5) If you could choose what one message that a reader takes away from reading your book, what would it be?
a. The message I hope everyone takes away from my book is that teens are real people with real emotions and complications. I’m tired of YA books that go for the stereotype.
6) Imagine a world where everyone wears a t-shirt that says something about who they are as a human being, i.e. “Doesn’t play well with others” or “Don’t talk to me until I’ve had coffee.” What would yours say?
a. “So many dogs, so little time!”
7) Who has been your biggest supporter in your writing?
a. First place has to go to my BFF, Carol. We’ve been friends since high school (which was a LONG time ago—yes, I’m a old geezer mom writing teen fiction). She beta reads EVERYTHING! Then she reads it again when it comes out. Way beyond the call of duty! She has been right there, every step along the way of this crazy journey I’m on and just acts like it’s perfectly normal. My husband, kids, mom, etc. come in a very close second.
8) What writer do you admire the most and why?
a. Nora Roberts comes to mind. She’s written over 200 novels and has such an amazing work ethic!
9) If you had only one book to read for the rest of your life what would it be?
a. Yikes! Tough question. If I could get the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I’d probably be happy.
10) Favorite quote about writing, life or otherwise:
“If a nation loses its storytellers, it loses its childhood.”
—Peter Handke

amy reece
Amazon Link:
http://www.amazon.com/Seeker-Book-1-Amy-Reece-ebook/dp/B00W8UEL5K/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/areeceauthor
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/AReeceAuthor
Website:
https://amyreece.wordpress.com/
Goodreads link:
https://www.goodreads.com/author/list/13884337.Amy_Reece

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Amy Reece

Leave a Reply

