Sci-Fi film about artificial intelligence sounds intriguing…

I am revamping my blog slightly, and am going to be bringing you news about the sci-fi world (because well, it’s awesome, so there). Today’s bit of news is about a movie that sounds pretty darn intriguing, Ex-Machina. I just read a review on Business Insider Australia’s website by Ian Phillips, and I’m thinking I’m going to have to go see this one. Read Phillips’ take on it here.

Artificial intelligence movies have never been one of my favorite brands of sci-fi, but for some reason, this one caught my attention. A line in Phillips’ article in particular sent my sci-fi feelers abuzzin’: “This is a world where the humans, and not the robots with limitless capabilities, are the villains.” At least in the previous AI films I’ve seen, this concept hasn’t been done before (please correct me if I’m wrong, I’d love to see this concept on the screen). The only films I’ve seen with AIs have involved the good humans and the good robots working together to save both of their kinds from destruction. I’m ready for something new.

If anyone’s already seen this film, please let me know what you thought in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

