Breaking the Rules:

Breaking the rules:

Part of the reason I decided to self-publish was this: I had overwhelmed myself with supposed rules. I felt like as I was writing, I was thinking more about the rules than the story. I have to say that some of my favorite books that I’ve ever read took the rules and smashed them to death with a giant literary hammer. So now instead of asking myself questions like “is this info-dumping,” “is my pacing too fast,” “is the first sentence exciting enough,” I’m…(*lets out a gasp)…working on the next book in my series. I admit that I’m stuck as to what happens next, but I’m confident without magazines, books on publishing, and agents’ recommendations clogging my brain with noise, I’m going to create something that does my characters and my readers right.

And I may just do some smashing of my own.

2 thoughts on “Breaking the Rules:

  1. I’m so glad you wrote this, I was feeling the same way. Writers have so many ‘rules’ they are supposed to follow, what happened to just letting the writing flow and having it come out as it wants? Sometimes rules can just constrict rather than help!

Leave a Reply

