Review of Unwind by Neal Shusterman

<a href="Unwind (Unwind, #1)“>

I love speculative fiction for many reasons: sometimes I just want to escape to a new world and learn about new people. But the ones that stick with me ask a “what if?” question to the world. This book tackles this particular question: What if the pro-life vs. pro-choice battle resulted in a bill that outlaws abortions, but allows parents to “unwind” their children between age 13-17, the idea being that the life of the child is not ended, but continues in a different form…a divided state? Of course there is more going on in the world that resulted in this law, but that’s the basic premise….I hope you will read it to figure out the rest.

The best books, in my opinion, make us uncomfortable to a certain extent. They pull at your heart-strings so tightly that you can’t help but see yourself in its pages, and wonder what you would do if you were in the characters’ shoes…and sometimes, you may not like what you discover about yourself.

This book is terrifying and brilliant. I am currently reading the second one of the series, and I find myself lying awake at night thinking about it, debating on whether I should turn my light back on and read just a couple more pages….

I could go on about this book all day, but I’m hoping you’ll pick it up and experience it for yourself.

One thought on “Review of Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Leave a Reply

