The “cool murderer” character

Maybe this isn’t a trend. Maybe it’s been here all along. But if I’m right, there’s a new trend in television right now (books: you are guilty as well, as many of these tv characters are based on books): it’s what I call the “cool murderer.” He’s the charmer, the sweet shy guy, the guy you find yourself rooting for despite one huge flaw: this character kills people. There are plenty of them on tv now, and I have to admit, I find them on the shows I call my favorites: Hannibal Lecter HANNIBAL, Dexter Morgan on DEXTER, even the Sons on SONS OF ANARCHY. These men kill people…and their audience asks for more. I don’t know how I feel about this, but I will tell you one thing: I’m going to keep watching.

What about you? Who’s your favorite “cool murderer?” What do you think this concept says about us as a society?

Leave a Reply

